skip to Main Content
Mariahilferstraße 105, 1060 Vienna - Parking +43 676 924 6333 Landstrasse 70, 4020 Linz +43 732 772 848

Jaw surgery - Orthognathic surgery - Adjustment osteotomies

A Jaw surgery is used for patients with extreme bite positions and significant esthetic as well as functional losses. In other words, when there is massive forward or backward displacement of the jaw bases, or the bite is wide open at the front. Both the upper and lower jaw teeth are brought into a perfect arch shape, i.e. straightened. Then the two jaw bases are surgically placed in the correct position in relation to each other and in relation to the face. A significant profile change can also be observed at the end of treatment, which is expressly desired by some patients.

What does jaw surgery mean ?

Once the rows of teeth have been shaped with braces, virtual or physical models are used to check whether the jaws fit together with the straightened teeth. If this is the case, an appointment for surgery can be made. Surgery means: general anesthesia and a hospital stay of varying length depending on the type of surgery. The exact information about the procedures, costs and risks of an oral surgery setting can always be obtained from the respective oral surgeon before the braces treatment begins. If surgery in a private hospital is desired, we work with Priv. Doz. DDr. Arno Wutzl in the Evangelical Hospital. Consultation hours are currently Thurs. 8 to 9:00 a.m. For more information, see here.

Preparation for oral surgery

The pretreatment, i.e. shaping of the dental arches, is carried out according to the patient's requirements or wishes with fixed braces or invisible rails. Then the jaws are adjusted to each other by means of oral surgery. This is followed by a fine-tuning phase in which the rows of teeth are keyed to each other, i.e. a sound bite is set.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Alternatives to jaw surgery

For open bites, the application of Invisible braces oral surgery can be avoided. For more information see Modified Sato Method. In principle, there are always ways to avoid oral surgery. However, this always means a compromise treatment whose advantages and disadvantages must be discussed depending on the patient's case.

Back To Top
en_USEnglish

skip to Main Content
Mariahilferstrasse 105, 1060 Wien - Parken +43 676 924 6333 Landstrasse 70, 4020 Linz +43 732 772 848

Kiefer OP – Kieferchirurgischer Eingriff – Orthognathe Chirurgie – Umstellungsosteotomien

Eine Kieferoperation kommt bei Patienten mit extremen Bisslagen und erheblichen ästhetischen als auch funktionellen Einbußen zum Einsatz. Also wenn es sich um massive Vor- oder Rückverlagerungen der Kieferbasen handelt, oder der Biss vorne weit offen ist. Hierbei werden Ober- als auch Unterkieferzahnreihen in eine perfekte Bogenform gebracht, also begradigt.  Danach werden die beiden Kieferbasen mittels Kiefer OP chirurgisch in die korrekte Position zueinander, als auch in Relation zum Gesicht gesetzt. Dabei ist auch eine deutliche Profilveränderung bei Behandlungsende zu beobachten, die von manchen Patienten ausdrücklich erwünscht wird.

Was bedeutet eine Kieferoperation ?

Sobald die Zahnreihen mit Zahnspangen ausgeformt wurden, wird anhand von virtuellen oder physischen Modellen geprüft ob die Kiefer mit den begradigten Zähnen zueinander passen. Ist dies der Fall kann ein OP Termin vereinbart werden. OP bedeutet: Vollnarkose und ein je nach Operationsart unterschiedlich langer Spitalsaufenthalt. Die genauen Informationen zu den Abläufen, Kosten und Risiken einer kieferchirurgischen Einstellung erhält man immer vor Beginn der Zahnspangenbehandlung bei dem jeweiligen Kieferchirurgen. Ist eine Operation in eiem Privatspital gewünscht, arbeiten wir mit Priv. Doz. DDr. Arno Wutzl im Evangelischen Spital zusammen. Sprechstunde ist derzeit immer Do 8 bis 9:00. Nähere Infos siehe hier.

Vorbereitung zum kieferchirurgischen Eingriff

Die Vorbehandlung, also Ausformung der Zahnbögen geschieht je nach Anforderung oder Wunsch des Patienten mit fixen Zahnspangen oder unsichtbaren Schienen. Danach erfolgt die Einstellung der Kiefer zueinander mittels kieferchirurgischem Eingriff. Danach folgt eine Feineinstellungsphase in der die Zahnreihen zueinander verschlüsselt werden, also ein satter Biss eingestellt wird.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Alternativen zur Kiefer OP

Bei offenen Bissen kann durch Anwendung von Unsichtbaren Zahnspangen ein kieferchirurgischer Eingriff vermieden werden. Für nähere Informationen siehe Modifzierte Sato Methode. Grundsätzlich gibt es immer wieder Möglichkeiten einen kieferchirurgischen Eingriff zu umgehen. Allerdings bedeutet das immer eine Kompromissbehandlung dessen Vor- und Nachteile je nach Patientenfall besprochen werden müssen.

Back To Top